final - open & U22

The SAILING Champions League was back to the Hunter River, Newcastle, partnering with the Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club and the City of Newcastle for this years final. Newcastle forms the perfect backdrop for the SCL:AP Finals and we are please to be a part of Newcastle major sailing festival called SAILfest and look forward to being at the center of the of the action.

As per last years Finals, racing was held immediately of Honeysuckle Wharf in the center of town and provided a great backdrop for spectating.

Entries were made up of 15 club teams from all over Australian (and Vanuatu) that qualified directly due to their results in the 2021 SCL:AP Season, or alternatively winning  clubs from State Leagues of VIC Sailing League and SA Sailing League or finally from the recent SCL:AP Qualifying event held in Geelong.

Racing over the weekend was intense with 24 separate 10-15 minutes races making up the Qualifying Series, after which the top 4 U22 and top 4 Open teams raced off in their respective Final Four Series to top honours.  In predominantly light and tricky conditions on the Hunter River the results from the Finals were:

Open Division:

    1. Mornington Yacht Club – James Jackson
    2. Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron – Jed Cruikshank
    3. Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron – Zac West
    4. Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club – Thomas Steenson

U22 (youth) Division:

    1. Mornington Yacht Club – James Jackson
    2. Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron – Zac West
    3. Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club – Thomas Steenson
    4. Royal Geelong Yacht Club – Mason Mahoney

The 2022 SCL:AP – FINALS is open to both the U22 and Open sailors, with all teams having a minimum of 2 male and 2 female members.

We are keen to make this event fun for all and if you have any questions please contact us directly.


Entries now open and the following clubs will be represented at the Final (list to be added to):


Saturday 26th March

    • 0830 – 0900 – Welcome & briefing (NCYC)
    • 1000 – 1800 – Qualifying Series (up to 24 races)
    • asap after racing BBQ (NCYC)

Sunday 11th April

    • 1000 – 1300 – Qualifying Series (up to 16 races)
    • 1330 – 1430 – U22 Final Four Series
    • 1500 – 1600 – Open Final Four Series
    • asap after racing – Presentation (NCYC)


Notice Board


Typical NSL events include a round-robin Qualifying Series of up to 45 races. Teams rotate through the boats in each flight so that each team competes against every other team and sails in every boat. The top 4 teams from the Qualifying Series compete in the Final Series. Both series use a short course, stadium format which includes: