Race Format

Typical NSL events include a round-robin Qualifying Series of up to 45 races. Teams rotate through the boats in each flight so that each team competes against every other team and sails in every boat. The top 4 teams from the Qualifying Series compete in the Final Series. Both series use a short course, stadium format which includes:

  • Up to 45 races per event
  • 3-4 races per hour
  • short course (12 – 15 min) windward leeward
  • Sailing Analytics / live race information
  • Fully umpired fleet racing
  • Identical one-design 7m keelboats
  • On-water boat change

Divisions and Teams

Clubs can enter teams in the following divisions:

Class FlagDivisionDescription
OpenMust have 4 crew
2 Female / 2 Male
No age limits
U22 (Youth)Must have 4 crew
2 Female / 2 Male
Max age 21 (at 1st Jan 2022)

Leagues and Finals

The NSL Oceania consists of three Leagues:

  • North (NSW/Qld/NT),
  • South (WA, SA, Vic, Tas),
  • Pacific (NZL, Pacific)

Clubs from each league compete in one or more qualifiers (if required) followed by a League Final. The top boats from each league final compete in the NSL Oceania Final

All NSL endorsed events are run to NSL standards and processes to ensure quality and consistency of delivery.